Home » The Guide To International Legal Research

Recent Posts

Contact Us

The George Washington
International Law Review
2028 G Street NW
Suite LL-017
Washington, D.C. 20006

Phone: (202) 994-4605
Fax: (202) 994-4609


For subscriptions and orders: ILRadmin@law.gwu.edu

For submissions:

The Guide To International Legal Research

The Guide to International Legal Research is an authoritative and comprehensive reference tool for law students and practitioners. Authored annually by the George Washington International Law Review, the Guide is designed to assist both novices and professionals with their international legal research. Following an introduction by Professor Christopher J. Borgen, the Guide is organized into two parts. In the first part, chapters are divided by regions. Each chapter contains an overview of the geopolitical climate in each region and lists government resources, legal resources, media resources, and resources by topic. Where appropriate, these sources are subdivided by country. Many of the chapters discuss both general multi-national organizations as well as international trade organizations and agreements that are specific to the region. The Guide also provides an overview of what each source covers and how it can be most effective.

The second part of the Guide covers substantive areas of international law, including general international law, public health law, space law, human rights law, intellectual property, international trade, international business transactions, environmental law, labor law, and international security law. Much like the regional sections, the substantive chapters begin with a section on international governance followed by a section on secondary sources pertinent to that subject area. Its small size and user-friendly nature both make the Guide to International Legal Research an invaluable research tool and an important time-saving resource for international legal research.


If you are interested in purchasing a copy of the Guide, please contact our publisher, Lexis-Nexis, at 1-800-533-1646 or goo.gl/dtqQk. When ordering, please specify which edition and what for format (hard copy or eBook) you would like to purchase. The 2017 edition sells for $488, but we do offer discounted copies to students.

2017-2018 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Priom Ahmed
Alexa DiCunzolo Alexandra D'Anna
Benjamin Herskovitz Bora Lee
Carina Tenaglia Christian Kobres
Dana Schwarz Jana Schwartz
Jared Schwalb Kalena Kettering
Katelyn Young Kirsten Ryan
Kristen Shibley Mary Mikhaeel
Maryam AlSayyad Mitch Purdy
Sophia Arrighi


2016-2017 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Irene Loizou
Alexa DiCunzolo Ashley Carter
Benjamin Herskovitz Bora Lee
Erick Kobres Eric Hernandez
John Ackerman Margaux Roussel
Nikita Kolomiets Priom Ahmed
Rachel Eisen Robert Pollak
Shengkai Zhao Quan Li
Zachary Andrews


2014-2015 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Isabelle Cutting
Rita Ambrosetti Nathan Kasai
Diana Bae Jordan Maucotel
Christopher Bair Justin Orlosky
Kelly Behr Monica Porte
Megan Bench Vijay Rao
Aniqua Bokhari Marjorie Truwit
Sean Callaghan Zelda Vassa
Greta Iliev


2013-2014 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Soufi Mirfakhraei
Margaret Beasley Claire Logan
Sean Callaghan Jeffrey Mansbach
Isabelle Cutting Jordan Maucotel
Benjamin Kalish Danielle Morello
Avi Kelin Vicki Morris
Michael Komo Justin Orlosky
Kimberly Larson Carly Sessions
Jessica Leal


2012-2013 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Anne Hope Newton
Nicole Cata Sasha Litvinov
Antonio David Soufi Mirfakhraei
Josh Doherty Danielle Morello
Christopher Freeman Vicki Morris
David Keithly Will Moynahan
Avi Kelin Carly Sessions
AJ Kornblith Joe Yarbough
Jessica Leal


2011-2012 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Iris Lowery
Diana Alvarez David Kraemer
Nathan Bilyeu Morgan Lavan
Jesse Cornett Sasha Litvinov
Antonio David Will Moynahan
Josh Doherty Anne Hope Newton
Chris Freeman Jessica Newton
David Keithly Kristin Rinninger
A.J. Kornblith Joe Yarbough


2010-2011 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Sara Marshman
Andrew Alberg Ke Li
Brock Dahl Iris Lowery
Jennifer Frey Andrew Miller
Sean Johnson Jessica Newton
Ryan Kilpatrick Ami Shah
Adam Kunz Frederic Vellucci
Lisa Lederberger Kristen Ward


2009-2010 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Erin Pulice
Lauren Bressack Sara Marshman
Brock Dahl Andrew Miller
Jennifer Frey Sara Niazi
Briana Heymann Julia Roumm
Ryan Kilpatrick Benjamin Sayagh
Sarah Knutson Eric Sidler
Ke Li


2008-2009 Guide Staff:
Executive Guide Editor Erin Estey
Courtney Enlow Thea Johnson
Dan Gajewski Sarah Knutson
Jeremy Glen Sara Niazi
Jonathan Goren Adam Pearlman
Anne Mira Guha Amisha Patel
Ryan Haws Ben Sayagh
Jeanne Hruska

Publication Tracker

Vol. 51, Number 3 – Published

Vol. 51, Number 4 –  Published

Vol. 52, Number 1 – EPE

Vol. 52, Number 2 – EME

Publication Process: 

After selecting which Articles and Notes to publish, the Article Editors (AE) work with the authors to fine tune the above-the-line text. Thereafter, the ILR Members and Managing Editors (ME) collect the cited sources, substantiate the claims, and edit the footnote citations. The Executive Production Editor (EPE) then completes a final review before sending each Issue to our printer.